When you decide to set up a passcode to secure the use of your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch device it’s a great way to keep your device secure from other people, but what happens when you enter in the wrong passcode or forget your password? While having a lockscreen passcode can be a way to ensure your privacy it can also quickly turn into a nightmare if you get locked out of your own device. If you’ve somehow disabled your device and are now seeing a red “disabled” message, then this article explains how to resolve this issue.
If you enter the wrong passcode six or more times, you’ll see a message that says one of the following:
The message says to try again later:
After too many attempts, your device may display, “[Device] is disabled, connect to iTunes”.
You may be able to reset the passcode by restoring the device.
Connecting the device may result in this error message: “iTunes could not connect to the [device] because it is locked with a passcode. You must enter your passcode on the [device] before it can be used with iTunes.”
If you are using Find My iPhone, you can use Remote Wipe to restore your device. If you have been using iCloud to back up, you may be able to restore the most recent backup to reset the passcode.