How To Use Google+ Circles

Trying to figure out what’s so different about Google+ over Facebook? Well, one of the big features are called Circles and they are pretty cool. Problem is, most people, aren’t quite sure how to use them. Let’s see if we can show you how these groups can be used to your advantage.


  • Circles can be used to avoid sending messages to everyone when you may only want specific people to see them (talking about a drunken night to friends, might not want to be shared with coworkers or family members etc.)
  • You can also use them to stop people from being annoyed with your posts by creating some for topics and then sending posts to those topic groups only when appropriate. I.e. You can create one for technology and put all of your techie friends in there, this way when you feel the urge to nerd out and talk about the latest iPhone rumors etc., you can post specifically to those people only and your other Circles won’t see it.
  • You can create circles within circles. Say you have friends that live in your area, so you might put them in their own circle (and keep them in your other circles as well) this way you can click on their circle in your stream to see what your local friends might be up to tonight.

4 responses to “How To Use Google+ Circles”

  1. Faribacristina says:

    lovin these “how to’s” for google+! i’m so excited for it! & love that i see myself in your vid hahah! 

  2. Lynnecrobinson says:


  3. […] The Google Circles are a true to life concept. Google+ allows us to create friendship circles like we make in real-life. Organize the people you interact with into groups, such as family, close friends or art buddies. Circles can be used to send out updates, images, links, or recent blog posts to a specific ‘circle’ of friends. This allows for better targeting marketing and networking with people. For instance, you can create a ‘ collectors circle’ and send them specific information about your art and upcoming events. Additionally, you can put people in multiple circles. The people you add to a circle get notified by Google that you’ve added them, but they will not know the name of your circle. There are also privacy settings that allow you to manage who sees or does not see your photos. […]

  4. Melindesign says:

    Wow! It’s high school cliques all over again….

Leave a Reply